2016 NAMM TEC Annual Awards Show

Founded in 1985, the TEC Awards is a prestigious awards event for the professional audio and music production industry. This award ceremony consists of 31 awards for Outstanding Technical and Creative Achievement. Back in September, the nominees were announced for the upcoming 2016 NAMM TEC.

Few of the nominees for Outstanding Technical Achievement in the Studio Monitor category for 2016 NAMM TEC Awards include:

  • Genelec’s 8351A
  • ATC SCM45A
  • Augspurger Duo 8
  • Barefoot Sound MicroMain45
  • JBL 7 Series

Powersoft is happy to announce that its Ottocanali DSP+D amplifier and M-System loudspeaker transducer have both been nominated in the categories of Amplification Hardware – Studio & Sound Reinforcement and Sound Reinforcement Loudspeakers.

Francesco Fanicchi, head of brand and communications, commented that “We are humbled to receive TEC Award nominations for Ottocanali DSP+D and M-System. We are grateful to the TEC Foundation for recognising the innovation in both of these products following what has been a very successful launch in the global marketplace.”

Other 2016 NAMM TEC finalists that made it into the Amplification category include:

  • The Antelope Audio Satori
  • d&b D20
  • Hafier HA75
  • Mytek Manhattan

Meanwhile the M-System is up against the EAW OTTO sub, EV EKX Series, JBL VTX V25-II, Meyer Sound LEOPARD and Turbosound iQ Series.

The eight categories for Outstanding Creative Achievement, including TV Sound Production. Film Sound Production, Record Production/Single or Track and more.

Inducted into the NAMM TEC Hall of Fame is Record Plant. This is due to their audio production and music production work which captures the American musical experience for generations, including famous hits such as Stevie Wonder’s Songs in the Key of Life. Christ Stone is at the helm of three Record Plant studios. alongside the late Gary Kellgren. 

In total, 180 nominees will be chosen winner in more than 30 categories. The 2016 NAMM TEC Awards website contains more information about the list of nominees.

The event will begin on the 23rd of January at 6 PM, starting with a reception, followed by the awards ceremony at 7pm.

Voting is open to anyone – from music industry organisations, journals and websites, including the following:

  • Producers & Engineers Wing of the Recording Academy
  • select NAMM members
  • the NAMM TEC community
  • the Game Audio Network Guild (G.A.N.G.)
  • com and
  • the Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE)

One of these groups will send voters a special email with link to the online ballot. To request a voting link, contact the following email: tecawards@namm.org.

Don’t delay! The deadline to submit votes is 31st of December.


Older Post Newer Post


There are not comments yet. Be the first one to post one!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published